Book Review – Dangerous Remedy

Hello! Welcome, or welcome back. Today I’m reviewing Dangerous Remedy, book one in the Battalion of the Dead series. This historical fiction with a twist of love and a light dusting of fantasy is wonderful for so many different audiences, and I really enjoyed listening to this as an audiobook, finding it very well performed, and with a narrator capable of bringing each character so clearly to life.

Synopsis
The first in a dazzling, commercial, historical adventure series set in the extravagant and deadly world of the French Revolution. A whirlwind of action, science and magic reveals, with a diverse cast of fearless heroines, a band of rebels like no other.

Camille, a revolutionary’s daughter, leads a band of outcasts – a runaway girl, a deserter, an aristocrat in hiding. As the Battalion des Morts they cheat death, saving those about to meet a bloody end at the blade of Madame La Guillotine. But their latest rescue is not what she seems. The girl’s no aristocrat, but her dark and disturbing powers means both the Royalists and the Revolutionaries want her. But who and what is she?

In a fast and furious story full of the glamour and excesses, intrigue and deception of these dangerous days, no one can be trusted, everyone is to be feared. As Camille learns the truth, she’s forced to choose between loyalty to those she loves and the future.

Perfect for fans of Netflix’s Shadow and Bone series.

Review
I saw a reviewer on Good Reads refer to this book as “Frankenstein meets chaotic disaster gays during the French Revolution“, and honestly? That’s pretty accurate. I say that with praise and love, because, as a complete disaster gay myself, I always find comfort in fellow disaster gay adventures.

I knew some about the French Revolution before I started this book, having studied it at school, but Dangerous Remedy made it very brutally clear that this wasn’t just about “let them eat cake”. It takes the realities of what was left after people were taken to the Guillotine; angry crowds who still can’t eat, parentless children trying to find their place in the world, and as always, it is those caught in between who suffer.

The Battalion is made up of four carefully crafted individuals. Cam, Ada, Al and Guil are all outcasts in their own way, either by design or desire, and the author does a brilliant job of making them all shine in their own ways. It’s also really great to see historical representation with LGBT and POC main characters, with appropriate nods to the descrimination faced while it still doesn’t overthrow the story. This is a hard balance to strike and I think the author does it well.

The story opens with a hot air balloon over a prison as the Battalion attempt a prison break. Excpet it turns out the information they were given was not to be believed, and things have only begun to get strange….

I had this book on my TBR for a while, and it jumped up a few books after I was asked to review the sequel. So keep your eyes peeled for that, and in the meantime – why not read the book?!

10 Comments

  1. I ended up reading this review because I realized the other one was the sequel πŸ˜… but it sounds SO good, super unique, and I’m glad you liked it. Incredible Review ❀️ “Frankenstein meets chaotic disaster gays during the French Revolution” is all I needed to know πŸ₯°

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s