Blog Tour – The Hawthorne Legacy

Hello hello and welcome or welcome back to my little bookish corner of the internet. Today’s review is one I’m really excited to share. It’s my stop on the blog tour for The Hawthorne Legacy, the second book in The Inheritance Games series, which funnily enough I read for a blog tour last year. AND LOVED. So as soon as this was possible to apply for, I was typing away. You can find the schedule for the rest of the tour posts here. Just a quick note: this tour is using the US covers for the images, but the UK cover is very different, which you can see in the UK links included. Thanks to TBR and Beyond Tours for all their hard work as ever.

Synopsis
Intrigue, riches, and romance abound in this thrilling sequel to the New York Times bestselling The Inheritance Games perfect for fans of Karen McManus and Holly Jackson.

The Inheritance Games ended with a bombshell, and now heiress Avery Grambs has to pick up the pieces and find the man who might hold the answers to all of her questions – including why Tobias Hawthorne left his entire fortune to Avery, a virtual stranger, rather than to his own daughters or grandsons.

Thanks to a DNA test, Avery knows that she’s not a Hawthorne by blood, but clues pile up hinting at a deeper connection to the family than she had ever imagined. As the mystery grows and the plot thickens, Grayson and Jameson, the enigmatic and magnetic Hawthorne grandsons, continue to pull Avery in different directions. And there are threats lurking around every corner, as adversaries emerge who will stop at nothing to see Avery out of the picture – by any means necessary.

With nonstop action, aspirational jet-setting, family intrigue, swoonworthy romance, and billions of dollars hanging in the balance, The Hawthorne Legacy will thrill Jennifer Lynn Barnes fans and new readers alike.

Review
Being reuinited with Avery and the Hawthorne brothers was like being back with old friends. Author Jennifer Lynn Barnes has the ability to sweep you up and connect you with everyone in their own, distinctive ways, from Avery, to her security guard Oren. You feel each of them making space for you on the page, ready to go off on their great game.

Avery has a puzzle to solve. But she’s not doing it alone, and none of them are playing by the same rules. The tension sizzling between both Grayson and Jameson, Xander being set to follow the path where it follows, and Nash dipping in and out with Libby… This book was a constant stream of action, with a side dose of hormones.

As well as the mystery at hand, which was as well constructed and brilliant as Barnes’ work ever is, what was done really perfectly was how human Avery and the brothers were made to feel. Being a billionaire genius crew, it’s easy to forget that they are just a group of teenagers at the end of the day, with far more at stake than a double or nothing bet. And as overwhelmed by it all Avery is, she is trying to get to grips who who she now has to become, not just in a grand society sense, but in that she has a responsibility to so many people via the companies she is now in charge of.

The book follows on very quickly – if not immediately – from the first book, and the momentum of everything that has happened in the weeks recently to Avery and the crew doesn’t let up, leaving her spinning and in desperate need to find some time to let go. Finding that time, however, might prove more risky than she ever thought.

As brilliant as book one, as witty and wonderful as ever, The Hawthorne Legancy is the perfect next step in Avery’s journey. I can’t wait to see what comes next.

Book Links
Good Reads
Amazon US / Amazon UK
Barnes & Noble
Book Depository
Indigo
Indie Bound

About the Author
Jennifer Lynn Barnes (who mostly goes by Jen) was born in Tulsa, Oklahoma. She has been, in turn, a competitive cheerleader, a volleyball player, a dancer, a debutante, a primate cognition researcher, a teen model, a comic book geek, and a lemur aficionado. She’s been writing for as long as she can remember, finished her first full book (which she now refers to as a “practice book” and which none of you will ever see) when she was still in high school, and then wrote Golden the summer after her freshman year in college, when she was nineteen.

Jen graduated high school in 2002, and from Yale University with a degree in cognitive science (the study of the brain and thought) in May of 2006. She’ll be spending the 2006-2007 school year abroad, doing autism research at the University of Cambridge in the United Kingdom.

Author Links
Website
Twitter
Instagram
Good Reads

This is a series I’ll follow right the way through, and I hope Barnes has approximately 200 more books planned for these characters because I don’t think I’ll ever want to give them up! I also recent read Little White Lies by the same author, set in the world of deadly debutantes if, like me, you’re looking for something to tide you over once you’ve devoured book two!

Thanks for stopping by, and thanks again to TBR, and to the publisher on NetGalley for early access.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s