The Coffee Book Tag

For those of you who don’t know, my first blog (now dead) and my original Instagram account, was called CaffeinatedCraftingCripple, because a) relcaiming the word ‘cripple’, b) I share my crochet projects there, and ccc) I LOVE COFFEE. So when I found this coffee themed book tag from Jamieson I absolutely had to jump in on it and give it a revival.

Black Coffee

A series that is tough to get into but has hardcore fans

A Court of Thorns and Roses is my immediate answer. Since having finished the series (multiple times), I now look at book one as an extended prequel to what is actually the main content of the story, and when people say they’re struggling to get into it, that’s what I say to them. And it really is one of those series that has the hardest of hardcore fans, myself included, as I have forearm tattooed! Reviews of the rest of the series here:
A Court of Mist and Fury
A Court of Wings and Ruin
A Court of Frost and Starlight

Peppermint Mocha

A book that gets more popular during the festive season

All things cosy crime happen over the festive time period for me, so things like Sherlock Holmes and Agatha Christie. There’s nothing better than snuggling down under a fluffy blanket with Christmas music playing and a copy of a Miss Marple mystery.

Hot Chocolate

A favourite childhood book

My parents are having a big sort out of all the bedrooms at the moment due to new pipes being laid, and that’s obviously got me feeling nostalgic, because the memory that came to mind with this prompt was The Water Babies, which I read curled up with my dad in sections, just before I got to a point of reading to myself each night. My dad wasn’t always around when I was growing up, so those moments have ingrained the book in my mind.

Double Shot of Espresso

A book that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to finish

I read so many brilliant thrillers that it’s hard to pick, but I’m going to go with Truly Devious. I read the whole series one after another I loved them so much, and it really is one of the most thrilling trilogies I’ve encountered. They’ll certainly end up in my top books of the year, I think. Fast paced, and constantly moving, there’s no where to catch your breath with these. Fabulous.

Starbucks

A book you see everywhere

I’m going to say The Cruel Prince. Maybe it’s just the people I follow on bookstagram and book Twitter, but this book is always being talked about, and is always popular in book shops (online or in store, now they’re open again!). It’s an interesting series, and is worth giving a shot if you like complex and morally grey characters.

That Hipster Coffee Shop

A book by an indie author

This year I’m working as part of the team for BBNYA, which focuses exclusively on indie books. Because of that I don’t think I can pick a single book as it will look like favouritism!

Oops, I Accidentally Got Decaf

A book you were expecting more from

Although this year has been full of truly brilliant books on the whole, there have been a few disappointments. There’s two that stick out in particular, for different reasons. I Hope You’re Listening ended up being a DNF because it just got to a point where it felt like even the author wasn’t sure what was happening next. The Island was also a book I had big expectations from and it ended up being hugely problematic, and I’ll be addressing it.

The Perfect Blend

A book or series that was both bitter and sweet, but ulimately satisfying

I’m going to agree with the original author of this post for this answer, and say The Infernal Devices part of the Shadowhunters books. This trilogy would be perfect by itself; the fact it winds in and out of the other books just makes it even better. I absolutely loved just everything about it, even the fact it broke my heart (and mended it).

Green Tea

A book or series that is quietly beautiful

I think that Ariadne is the answer here. This book is gentle in so many ways but is brutal in others, and finds a balance where I would defend it to the ends of the earth. It really is a gorgeous book inside and out, and I hope it gets the fame it deserves!

Chai Latte

A book or series that makes you dream of far off places

It’s got to be Ship of Shadows. I loved the adventures on the sea and on land, and I can’t wait for the second book to come out later this year, ready for further adventures.

Earl Grey

Favourite classic

I’ve said multiple times I think that Les Miserables is and always will be my favourite classic. It’s one of the most beautiful books that’s ever written as far as I’m concerned, and it’s just utterly perfect. The dynamics between the characters, the development in each of them (and even those there isn’t), and the way everything interconnects is just sheer brilliance.

Tagging:
Fiona
Ellie
Aviaja
Kerri
Gee

5 Comments

Leave a comment