WWW Wednesday – 8th December 2021

Hello hello, and welcome or welcome back to my little bookish corner of the internet. It’s well and truly December now, as opposed to last week’s “okay it’s kind of December”, and if you haven’t heard the new Christmas song from Elton John and Ed Sheeran… Well, you must have been living under a rock. It’s actually quite good, sorry.

I’ve had a bit of a rocky start to the month, where I started a few books and had to DNF them due to triggers; both had pregnancy in them unfortunately, and it’s just still a bit too tender to poke that bruise just yet. So I’m running a bit behind with my usual pace. Nevertheless, she persisted, and I’m picking up a little bit of speed now… I hope.

WWW Wednesday as always is about looking at recent reading habits with three simple questions:

  • What have you recently finished reading?
  • What are you currently reading?
  • What are you planning on reading next?

Looking back briefly to my December TBR, and I’m afraid I’ve picked up three of these, and DNF them all. It always makes me a bit annoyed, upset, frustrated, and everything in between when I end up not finishing a book. Two of these were because of pregnancy themes as I mention, and the third made me uncomfortable in the way it was written. But I’ll talk more about that another time.

What have you recently finished reading?
I finished The Ex Hex yesterday, and I have to say…. I really enjoyed it. I always find romance to be a hit or miss genre for me, and this was a genuine hit. I got sucked in having seen it everywhere on social media, and I have no regrets that I allowed myself to go down that rabbit hole! It was funny, sexy, witty and witchy – all the things I love. It felt like a nice big hug in a book, and was narrated by one of my favourite audiobook narrators, Caitlin Davies, so I enjoyed it even more.

What are you currently reading?
Last night I started The Phone Box at the Edge of the World. It’s an absolutely beautiful book, and has had me in tears already. I knew it was going to tug on my heartstrings, and it’s really managed to do so. Here’s the synopsis:
We all have something to tell those we have lost….
On a windy hill in Japan, in a garden overlooking the sea stands a disused phone box. For years, people have travelled to visit the phone box, to pick up the receiver and speak into the wind: to pass their messages to loved ones no longer with us.
When Yui loses her mother and daughter in the tsunami, she is plunged into despair and wonders how she will ever carry on. One day she hears of the phone box and decides to make her own pilgrimage there, to speak once more to the people she loved the most. But when you have lost everything, the right words can be the hardest thing to find….
Then she meets Takeshi, a bereaved husband whose own daughter has stopped talking in the wake of their loss. What happens next will warm your heart, even when it feels as though it is breaking…. 
The moving and uplifting international best seller, based on an incredible true story.

What are you planning on reading next?
I think I’m going to go for The House in the Cerulean Sea next. I did say it was going to be one of my December reads, and there’s no time like the present! Or, nearby future, I suppose. I’ve got it downloaded on my phone, ready to go.
I’m also going to try and make a start on some of January’s books, as the days are creeping by, no matter how hard we might try to ignore it happening! But I’m very much feeling the whole ‘mood reading’ vibe right now, so I’m double thinking myself each time I have an opinion. I’m such hard work.

Sorry for the somewhat hectic nature of my post; that’s rather the nature of my life at the moment!

The rest of this week is made up of book reviews and a Christmasy book tag, so do come back again.

2 Comments

  1. There’s nothing wrong with putting aside books (and I tend to get DNFs in bunches, too, no idea why), and there will always be right book / wrong time instances (I recall picking up a book by an author I liked and the main character was diagnosed with the life-threatening condition my cousin had just been diagnosed with. Flipped to the end of the book – ah. Put it aside (cousin survived fine and is 7 years in remission now). I’ve never encountered that health condition in a book since!). I am reading “How to Read Water” which is quite dense, but has pockets of such fascination I can’t leave it alone, and a succession of light reads on Kindle, two of which (last reviewed) had disappointments to them, the next two have been better!

    Like

Leave a comment