April 2023 Wrap Up

Hello hello, and welcome or welcome back to my little bookish corner of the internet. Time for my monthly wrap up!

I know I said the same last month, but my mental health wobble continued throughout April, and some well made plans, like writing about the Brighton launch of A Day of Fallen Night with Samantha Shannon, just didn’t fall into place. It’s frustrating when you’re fighting against your brain all day, and I’m sure so many of you will understand that feeling. I’ve pushed through, and the month has finished on a more positive place than it started, so I’m hoping that may continue.

A piece of advice I was given years ago when I was struggling, wanting to read but couldn’t get into anything I was picking up, was to pick up a genre you wouldn’t normally read. In part so it’s completely different, but in part, they advised, that you don’t need to care about it in the same way as you would a book you had emotions about. For me, this really works, and it’s advice I now pass on too. I put this into action for part of this month, as well as picking up an old favourite, and this allowed me to read the rest of the books I managed.

I’m quite pleased with what I managed to achieve reading-wise all things considered, and I finished the month having read book number seventy of the year, leaving me still a few books ahead of where I need to be for being on track for my goal of two hundred books in 2023. I’ve lost a little bit of the number – I think I was eleven books ahead and now I’m six – but I’m still managing to stay on track, and I’m really proud.

Let’s have a look at what I ended up reading in April.

Latte, Darling – eBook
Romance – 4 stars

The Mystery of the Exploding Teeth – Audio
Non-Fiction – 4 stars

Priest: A Love Story – eBook
Erotica – 4 stars

Creama – Graphic Novel
LGBT Ghost Story – 4 stars

The Mystery of Raspberry Hill – Physical
Middle Grade Gothic – 4 stars

Passing Emma – eBook
Erotica – 3 stars

The Bones of Me – Physical
Novel In Verse – 3 stars

A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) – Audio
Fantasy – Reread – 5 stars

History of the Unexpected – Audio
Non-Fiction – 3 stars

Looking Glass Sound – Physical – Review here
Thriller – 3 stars

Searching For Juliet – Audio
Non-Fiction – 5 stars

Let’s Play Murder – Physical
YA Mystery – 3 stars

My Killer Vacation – Physical / Audio
RomCom Mystery – 4 stars

Heart, Haunt, Havoc – eBook
LGBT Paranormal – 4 stars

Someone Is Watching You – Physical
YA Thriller – 4 stars

Thanks for stopping by for this post today. May is off to a good start, and I’ll see you in a month for another update! In the meantime, there’s interviews, reviews and a mixture of other posts scheduled for the rest of this month, so be sure not to miss a post.

How was April for you? Let me know in the comments!

1 Comments

Leave a comment