Books I Can Read Again and Again

I’ve always been one who keeps books that I love, sometimes because just looking at them reminds me of the happy feeling of a good book, but also because I do tend to be someone who rereads. It does seem to be an almost dividing statement; some people see it as a waste of time when there are so many books out there still to be explored, and while I can see the merits of that – the thought that I’ll never be able to read everything I want to makes me ridiculously sad sometimes – I also think you should do what makes you happy.

Then, there are books that make you think, and sometimes send a reminder both to you and to the way you handle the world around you with the message they give, and that can give so much benefit in various ways. These don’t even need to be cheerful books; sometimes it’s just the knowledge of there being a message attached.

Agatha Christie

Okay so starting with an author rather than an individual book, but I can read any Agatha Christie multiple times, and it just doesn’t stop being fun. I particularly love Miss Marple. The Mirror Crack’d From Side to Side is one of my favourites, and I have it in a great vintage-style cover, but as a hardback.

A Court of Thorns and Roses series

If you’ve been around my blog at all in the last twelve months, you won’t be surprised to see this mentioned. I’ve even got a tattoo to go with my love of the series. These have become comfort reads, and I read them four times each last year (yes, I know). Despite not enjoying the latest book, the original part of the series is still full of fond memories, brilliant quotes, and utter comfort. Reviews below in order:
A Court of Thorns and Roses
A Court of Mist and Fury
A Court of Wings and Ruin
A Court of Frost and Starlight

Cinderella Is Dead

Cinderella Is Dead was one of my favourite books last year, and absolutely one of my favourite ARCs. I was so lucky to read some truly brilliant books in 2020, and the fact the author has another book coming out this year, This Poison Heart, has got me even more excited to read the book again.

From Blood and Ash series

Despite the third book only having hit the shelves a few weeks ago, I’ve read it twice already. I finished it, and immediately went back around to book one. These are absolutely this year’s comfort reads, despite the pain I evidently enjoy putting myself through for that to be the case. I own these in physicals as well as audios, and I’ve used a bit of each as I’ve reread them, swapping in between depending on what’s going on; the narrator is particularly good, and it’s easy to get lost in the words with her skill.
From Blood and Ash
A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire
The Crown of Gilded Bones

One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich

I first read this book when I was in secondary school, aged about 14, and came across it in the school library. Utterly intrigued, I sat down there and then, and began to read. I read it three times just in the time I had it out of the library. Despite not being a very long book, there is a lot to take away from it, and it’s a powerful book, one that I don’t think gets enough of a mention when it comes to classic literature. Here is my guide to Classics To Read If You Don’t Like Classics.

Shadowhunters

So far, I’m on my first time around reading through the Shadowhunters world, but I already know it absolutely won’t be my last. With a huge range of characters and a whole selection of different groups of books to pick through, how could it possibly be? I’m enjoying these books so much, with my favourite having been the book that focused on Magnus. I can’t wait for more of him in the books to come. My reviews (in Cassandra Clare’s recommended reading order) here:
City of Bones
City of Ashes
City of Glass
The Red Scrolls of Magic
Clockwork Angel
Clockwork Prince

(Clockwork Princess still TBR)
City of Fallen Angels
City of Lost Souls review going up tomorrow!

So there’s just some of the books that I have – and will – happily read time and again, sometimes even on a straight repeat! There’s no harm in reading what you want, when you want; it’s a healthy thing to do. Even if it is 3am! Thanks for stopping by.

6 Comments

  1. This is a great list! I have very few of them, mostly childrens’ stories I’ve held close to heart, but there’s a scatter of YA/Adult series in there too.

    Like

  2. I’m also a rereader! There’s one in particular that i’ve read a dozen of times through the years already XD

    I’ve yet to find the courage to read any Agatha Christie ..😬 It’s a bit intimidating as I know it’s my godmother’s favorites- so I fear of somehow not liking them or something XD

    Like

  3. I don’t reread much at all but ACOTAR definitely as well as Harry Potter are firm favourites that never get old with me.

    Like

  4. I love to reread books and definitely agree with A day in the life of Ivan. Like you, I first read it at secondary school and have read it several times since. I might need to think about my own favourite rereads after reading this.

    Like

Leave a comment