WWW Wednesday – 14th October 2020

Another week, another Wednesday. One of the weird things about writing most Wednesdays about a similar thing is that you feel the weeks ticking away. It’s an odd feeling, when you get philosophical about it, and even when you’re just thinking about it as a concept, it’s a strange way to spend your time. Watching the weeks tick away, especially this time of year, is like watching Christmas approach.

I was explaining to a new medical professional involved in my care about what book blogging is recently, and that again was an odd conversation. It was like explaining a little part of my soul rather than just what I spend my time doing, albeit now spent mostly with a cat sprawled across my chest when typing.

As always, WWW Wednesday is a lovely way of recapping the way you’ve been reading, are reading, and will be reading in the foreseeable. It asks just three simply questions:

  • What have you recently finished reading?
  • What are you currently reading?
  • What will you be reading next?

As I mentioned recently both in last week’s WWW Wednesday and in my Health Piece, I haven’t been doing particularly well health wise, and so life is a bit unpredictable at the moment. I’m doing my best to keep up with what I need to be reading (and want to be, obviously), but I’m doing a lot more sleeping than I would otherwise be, which certainly takes away from sleeping time!

But here goes.

What have you recently finished reading?
Last night I finished reading Poisoned, the upcoming release by Jennifer Donnelly. I was lucky enough to be given an advance copy from Hot Key Books as part of my Ambassador role. I’m working on a piece about spooky YA reads for this spooky season, and my goodness does Poisoned fill that requirement! It really did make the hairs on the back of my neck stand up at times, and Jennifer Donnelly does an amazing job of building one of the most atmospheric reads I have had in my hands for some time. Super spooky.

What are you currently reading?
I am reading several things at once right now. Of course. Part of this is because of the amount of sleep or rest I need right now; I’m trying to listen to audiobooks where I can to keep my reading levels up but there are still some books that I only have in physicals or ebooks, and I need to crack on with those at the same time. I’m hoping that when my new glasses arrive in two weeks time I might get on better! But for now here’s a list of what I’m reading:

  • Throne of Glass – Sarah J Maas – Audiobook
  • Kingdom of the Wicked – Kerri Maniscalco – eBook (ARC)
  • The Wolf and The Water – Josie Jaffrey – Paperback (ARC)
  • They Wish They Were Us – Jessica Goodman – Audiobook
  • The Cruel Prince – Holly Black – Paperback & Audiobook

Phew! I know, I know. I have commitment issues.

What are you planning on reading next?
Part of this depends on how far I get along with the above. There’s sequels to two of the above, and besides, I have several (hundred) books to be getting on with if I don’t. What I’m really craving right now is another thriller or mystery, so I might read the second book in the S.T.A.G.S series. As you might have seen from my review, I absolutely loved the first one, so I’m that mix between anxious and excited for book two.

Thanks for joining me for another Wednesday!

1 Comments

Leave a comment